Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Loose Blues

Album: Loose Blues
# Song Title   Time
1)    Loose Bloose Takes 2 and 4 More Info... 7:06
2)    Loose Bloose Take 3 More Info... 5:32
3)    Time Remembered Album Version More Info... 6:01
4)    Funkallero Album Version More Info... 6:11
5)    My Bells Album Version More Info... 5:23
6)    There Came You Album Version More Info... 5:51
7)    Fudgesickle Built For Four Album Version More Info... 4:29
8)    Fun Ride Album Version More Info... 5:15
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Jim Hall (guitar); Ron Carter (bass); Philly Joe Jones (drums).
  • Recorded at Nola Penthouse Sound Studios, New York, New York on August 21 & 22, 1962. Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.
  • Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1992, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Jim Hall (guitar); Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Philly Joe Jones (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
  • Liner Note Author: Orrin Keepnews.
  • Recording information: Nola Penthouse Sound Studios, New York, NY (08/21/1962/08/22/1962).
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Ed Michel.
  • This long-lost recording session features the late pianist with tenor man Zoot Sims and other musicians that are all jazz legends in their own right. There are a couple of interesting facts that surround LOOSE BLUES. First, it may be the only Bill Evans release that features all Evans compositions. Second, the reason it was never released was due to difficulties the sidemen were having with the tunes. (Evans' composing always sounded flowing and beautiful, but his tunes were, in reality, quite harmonically and rhythmically difficult.) LOOSE BLUES was shelved simply because Evans was not happy with the results.
  • This reissue, however, shows that the music was actually much better than Evans thought. It's fascinating to hear such long-forgotten Evans obscurities as "There Came You," "Fudgesickle Built for Four" and "Fun Ride." Moreover, Evans classics such as "Funkallero," "My Bells," and the haunting "Time Remembered," are heard performed superbly by the pianist and his all star ensemble. LOOSE BLUES is a must for any serious Bill Evans fan.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top