We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Love It To Death


Product Description
Product Details


1. Caught In A Dream

2. I'm Eighteen

3. Long Way To Go

4. Black Juju

5. Is It My Body

6. Hallowed Be Thy Name

7. Second Coming

8. Ballad Of Dwight Fry

9. Sun Arise

Performer Notes
  • Alice Cooper: Alice Cooper (vocals); Michael Bruce (guitar, keyboards); Glen Buxton (guitar); Dennis Dunaway (bass instrument); Neal Smith (drums).
  • Whereas Alice Cooper's first two studio albums, 1969's PRETTIES FOR YOU and 1970's EASY ACTION, tended more towards the trippy excesses of the hippie era, their next one, 1971's LOVE IT TO DEATH introduced the world to the heavy sound that Cooper would soon be taking to the top. With the invaluable production assistance of future Pink Floyd/Lou Reed cohort Bob Ezrin, LOVE IT TO DEATH proved Alice Cooper's first truly great album, and served as their commercial breakthrough.
  • That staple of teen alienation, "I'm Eighteen," is the most iconic cut, but every single track on LOVE IT TO DEATH is outstanding. Plenty of other Cooper favorites are included--the candid "Is It My Body," the grim theatrics of "Ballad of Dwight Fry" (a slightly misspelled homage to the horror-film actor), the powerful opener "Caught In A Dream," and the tuneful afterglow of the closer "Sun Arise." With pretentious prog-rock and folk-rock ruling the charts in the early '70s, LOVE IT TO DEATH served as a wake-up call to thousands of disenfranchised teens, and became a kind of blueprint for punk and edgy hard rock later in the decade.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (4/15/71, p.42) - "...from the first note it was right: Alice Cooper bringing it all back home again. God it's beautiful..."

Kerrang (Magazine) (p.69) - "Adding a pre-punk sneer to proceedings, LOVE IT TO DEATH is chock-full of genuine classics..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top