We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Brian Jonestown Massacre: Elise Dye, Paola Simmonds (vocals); Anton Newcombe (guitar, bass, drums, vocals); Jeffrey Davies (guitar); Rick Maymi, Matt Hollywood (bass); Graham Bonnar, Brian Glaze (drums).
  • Engineers: Anton Newcombe, David Deresinski, Eric Holland, John Karr, Jessica Wing, Adriene Gulyassy, Brian Jonestown Massacre.
  • Personnel: Paola Simmonds, Elise Dye (vocals); Jeffrey Davies (guitar); Graham Bonnar, Brian Glaze (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Adriene Gulyassy; Eric Holland; John Karr; Jessica Wing; Dave Deresinski; Anton Newcombe.
  • Psychedelic revivalists Brian Jonestown Massacre revolve around mad mastermind Anton Newcombe, whose notorious drug-addled antics (as memorably documented in the 2004 documentary DIG) result in a constant revolving door of personnel. The band's 1995 debut full-length captures a moment in time when BJM was still full of promise, before things began to deteriorate.
  • For METHODRONE, the '60s-obsessed Massacre had clearly done their homework; echoes of the Velvet Underground, the Electric Prunes, and other hip signposts of the era can be heard here, as thick clouds of distorted guitar float along, buffeted by lulling drones and languid vocals. The whole thing has a stoned-sounding effect that's poised halfway between the contemporaneous shoegazer sound and the '80s Paisley Underground movement. The sharp popcraft the band would soon display hadn't yet developed here, but the seeds for their acid-drenched indie rock were memorably planted. The band's fevered, fractious history can be confusing, but METHODRONE is where it all began.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top