Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Moment of Truth [Parental Advisory]

Album: Moment of Truth
# Song Title   Time
1)    You Know My Steez
2)    Robbin Hood Theory
3)    Work
4)    Royalty - (featuring Cedric "K-Ci" Hailey/JoJo)
5)    Above the Clouds - (featuring Inspectah Deck)
6)    JFK 2 LAX
7)    Itz a Set Up - (featuring Hannibal)
8)    Moment of Truth
9)    B.I. Vs. Friendship - (featuring M.O.P.)
10)    Militia, The - (featuring Big Shug/Freddie Foxxx)
11)    Rep Grows Bigga, The
12)    What I'm Here 4
13)    She Knowz What She Wantz
14)    New York Strait Talk
15)    My Advice 2 You
16)    Make 'Em Pay - (featuring Krumbsnatcha)
17)    Mall, The - (featuring G. Dep/Shiggy Sha)
18)    Betrayal - (featuring Scarface)
19)    Next Time
20)    In Memory Of...
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Gang Starr: Guru (rap vocals); DJ Premier (spoken vocals, keyboards, drum programming, scratches).
  • Additional personnel: Elijah Shabazz (spoken vocals); K-Ci, JoJo (vocals); Inspektah Deck, Hannibal, M.O.P., Big Shug, Freddie Foxxx, G-Dep, Shiggy Sha, Scarface, Krumb Snatcha (rap vocals); DJ Premier (scratches).
  • Recorded at D&D Studios, New York, New York.
  • Personnel: DJ Premier (keyboards, drum programming, scratches); Mark Spier (sampler).
  • Audio Mixer: DJ Premier.
  • Recording information: D & D Studios.
  • Photographer: Daniel Hastings.
  • On their fifth album MOMENT OF TRUTH, Gang Starr solidifes their position in the hip-hop arena. Lyrically and musically, Guru and DJ Premier have always been head and shoulders above the rest, but with MOMENT OF TRUTH, the duo's experience is both obvious and rewarding. Since their debut in 1989, Gang Starr have remained true to themselves, and as a result, prove to be one of the most street-credible rap groups around.
  • With Premier's amazingly creative production tactics and Guru providing lyrical education, Gang Starr can't lose. Premier's track record shows that any MC lucky enough to work with him automatically earns props, while Guru's monotone style forces listeners to pay close attention. See songs like "Above The Clouds" and "B.I. Vs. Friendship" to be schooled. No phony gimmicks, just raw straight-up hip-hop.
Professional Reviews
Spin (1/99, p.91) - Ranked #16 on Spin's list of "Top 20 Albums of '98."

Entertainment Weekly (4/24/98, p.78) - "...Guru's gravel-mouthed admonitions to wannabe MCs and first-hand insight into court battels are as evenly matched to DJ Premier's coveted turntable orchestrations as Satchmo's voice was to his horn..." - Rating: B+

CMJ (1/11/99, p.4) - "...Observe and acknowledge the way true hip-hop was meant to sound - raw yet refined, with beats powerful enough to blow your back out at the drop of a needle..."

The Source (5/98, p.145) - 4.5 Mics (out of 5) - "This is the record that hip-hop purists who have long been tired of the artform's commercial tendencies and lack of creativity have been savoring for....MOMENT OF TRUTH delivered the antidote to hip-hop afflictions..."

Melody Maker (4/11/98, p.44) - "...Gang Starr come over like the wise old uncles who've updated their sound, but softened it with interspersed bursts of swingbeat."

NME (Magazine) (4/11/98, p.39) - 8 (out of 10) - "...Rapper Guru and DJ Premier's reunification finds them returning refreshed to their original blueprint, making peerless hip-hop of class and quality..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Urban » Hip Hop
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top