Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

My Kind of Town

Album: My Kind of Town
# Song Title   Time
1)    It'll Come to You
2)    Drive South
3)    Paper Thin
4)    When You Hold Me Tight
5)    Child of the Wild Blue Yonder
6)    Straight Outta Time
7)    Thing Called Love, A
8)    Cross My Fingers
9)    Feels Like Rain
10)    Have a Little Faith in Me
11)    Perfectly Good Guitar
12)    Seven Little Indians
13)    Bring Back Your Love To Me
14)    Rock Back Billy
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Grant Park, Chicago (06/26/1993).
  • Recorded for a Chicago radio station in 1993, not long after the release of Perfectly Good Guitar, My Kind of Town finds John Hiatt mining his then-recent records for A&M -- the classic 1987 comeback Bring the Family, its excellent 1988 successor Slow Turning, the highly polished 1990 LP Stolen Moments and, naturally, Perfectly Good Guitar, which was the record he was plugging -- adding a few earlier tunes for good measure. His band is slick and professional, expertly vamping as Hiatt talks some jive at the start of "Child of the Wild Blue Yonder," goosing his roots rock so it has a contemporary punch that, in retrospect, sounds slightly dated (the heavily flanged guitar on the opening solo rendition of "It'll Come to You" sets the pace for everything that comes next). That said, Hiatt and crew sound quite good beneath the gloss and the set list -- while missing a few recent Hiatt heavy-hitters, such as "Tennessee Plates" or "Memphis in the Meantime" -- is robust and filled with good songs. Not a major thing but a good snapshot of where Hiatt was in 1993, when he was still in the mainstream and a crossover hit still seemed like a possibility. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top