Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Never Nothing


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Photographer: Wyatt Kollar.
  • Arranger: Skyler McKee.
  • By way of ease, California indie combo Super Whatevr have been effectively labeled as either emo-pop or pop-punk, but in reality the Orange County trio is a little tougher to pigeonhole. While their self-released 2017 EP, Good Luck, did have a healthy dose of existential suburban emo-catharsis, their full-length debut is a rangier animal, with forays into detached '90s indie, wiry post-punk, straight-ahead alt-rock, and a strange little intro that plays like an ethereal nod to the Police's "Invisible Sun." Their first release for Hopeless Records, Never Nothing sees singer/guitarist Skyler McKee, bassist Thomas Waale, and drummer Luke Mensink firing on all cylinders from the dark but sprightly "Bloomfield" to the chugging bummer rock anthem "Telelelevision," building a restless energy that bubbles under even the more languid tracks like the lonesome "Advice" and "Kathrin with a K." That edgy, unsettling shimmer hangs throughout each of the 12 cuts, giving the production an immediacy to match McKee's ragged delivery, which alternates back and forth between swagger and vulnerability. Well-crafted and markedly subtler than Never Nothing's attack would suggest, Super Whatevr pack plenty of care into their debut. ~ Timothy Monger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top
We use essential and some optional cookies to provide you the best shopping experience. Visit our cookies policy page for more information.