We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Osibisa / Woyaya


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 2 CDs: OSIBISA (1971)/WOYAYA (1971)
  • Osibisa: Teddy Osei (drums); Mac Tontoh, Robert Bailey , Sol Amarfio, Spartacus R., Wendel Richardson, Loughty Amao.
  • Personnel: Wendel Richardson (vocals, guitar); Teddy Osei (vocals, flute, tenor saxophone); Loughty Amao (flute, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, congas); Mac Tontoh (trumpet, flugelhorn, cowbells); Robert Bailey (piano, organ, timbales); Spartacus R. (bass guitar, percussion); Sol Amarfio (drums, bongos, cowbells).
  • Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
  • Liner Note Authors: Richard Williams; Alan Robinson .
  • Recording information: Advision, London, England; Air Studios, London, England.
  • Photographers: Robert Ellis ; Shepard Sherbell.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Loughty Amao.
  • This 2004 release from BGO combines the first two Osibisa albums into one package. Both Osibisa and Woyaya -- originally released in 1971 -- are remastered with fine, vibrant sound, and the original sleeve notes from the latter are included, as well as a new essay. Though Osibisa had a lengthy career and remained creative for several years, the two albums here are the group's best -- so this should actually be considered the best introduction, at least until an adequate discography-spanning collection is put together. Since it's a two-fer release, Roger Dean's typically bonkers artwork from both albums is scaled down drastically and posed side by side on the front. ~ Andy Kellman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » Africa » Ghanaian
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top