Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Our Little Corner of the World

Album: Our Little Corner of the World: Music from the Gilmore Girls
# Song Title   Time
1)    Waltz #1
2)    What a Wonderful World
3)    Child Psychology
4)    Know Your Onion!
5)    I Found Love
6)    Car Song
7)    Oh My Love
8)    Getting Married
9)    Where You Lead
10)    Clear Spot
11)    One Line
12)    I'm the Man Who Murdered Love
13)    Maybe Next Week
14)    Thirteen
15)    Human Behaviour
16)    I Don't Mind
17)    Tell Her What She Wants to Know
18)    It's Alright, Baby
19)    God Only Knows
20)    Smile
21)    O'Oh
22)    Rory and Lane
23)    Girl From Mars
24)    My Little Corner of the World
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Compilation producers: Amy Sherman-Palladino, Daniel Palladino.
  • Personnel: Grant-Lee Phillips (vocals, guitar); Carole King (vocals, piano); Patrick Warren (harpsichord, chamberlin); Carla Azar (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Mike Piersante; Wally Gagel.
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Photographers: Rocky Schenck; Hugh Brown .
  • Only on the soundtrack records for the films of Wes Anderson (Rushmore, The Royal Tennenbaums) does one find such a unique and unpredictable collection of well-chosen music by such strong artists -- almost universally using distinctive LP tracks over the usual singles favored everywhere else for soundtracks and compilations. In fact, this differs from all the other bogus TV show compilations in one other crucial fact: Every one of these 24 songs has appeared on a Gilmore Girls episode, and quite prominently at that. Aside from one truly asinine track by Black Box Recorder and an ineffective college-try effort from the ageless Claudine Longet, there are so many corners of fun and enterprising pop here, one hardly knows where to begin. Any comp/show that so prominently features the magnificent Pernice Brothers ("Clear Spot"), the Shins ("Know Your Onion!"), and Ash ("Girl From Mars") gets this writer's approval. But who wouldn't stop dead for the older, immortal beauty of Big Star's Olympian Radio City track "Thirteen" from three decades ago? Joey Ramone's "adios amigos," fare-thee-well cover of "What a Wonderful World" is inarguably great, too. And for all this -- and both John Lennon and Yoko Ono separately -- for this writer's money, the collection is nearly stolen by the heartfelt theme song, an exclusive from the far-from-washed-up Carole King and daughter Louise Goffin (so it's still a Goffin & King match, if a very different one). "Where You Lead I Will Follow" is a song that remembers King's most affecting penwork, and her lead vocal still grabs you by the aorta. The sentiment of the song, fitting for a modern single mother/daughter drama, is also apropos for this CD as a whole. There is a great demand for lasting, quirky, non-rote, singular music, instead of the rote formulas the industry so fearfully, shortsightedly clings to like famine survivors with stale crusts of baguettes. It's all over this. ~ Jack Rabid
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/14/02, p.88) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This inspired collection embraces whimsy and conveys wonderment..."

Spin (2/03, p.102) - "...Give the producers their own radio station now..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Power Pop
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top