Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Painful [Extra Painful!]

Album: Painful [Extra Painful!]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Big Day Coming
2)    From A Motel 6
3)    Double Dare
4)    Superstar-Watcher
5)    Nowhere Near
6)    Sudden Organ
7)    Worrying Thing, A
8)    I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long
9)    Whole Of The Law, The
10)    Big Day Coming
11)    I Heard You Looking
1)    Nowhere Near [Demo]
2)    From A Motel 6 [Live Acoustic] - (alternate take, live)
3)    Tunnel Vision [Unreleased Instrumental Demo]
4)    Sudden Organ [Demo]
5)    Smart Window [Unreleased Painful Session] - (alternate take)
6)    Big Day Coming [Live Acoustic] - (alternate take, live)
7)    Slow Learner [Unreleased Demo]
8)    Double Dare [Demo]
9)    Worrying Thing [Demo], A
10)    I Heard You Looking [Live] - (live)
1)    Shaker
2)    For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version] - (alternate take)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Yo La Tengo: Ira Kaplan (guitar); Georgia Hubley (keyboards, bass); James McNew (drums).
  • Yo La Tengo made a major creative leap forward with 1992's May I Sing with Me, where their yin-and-yang mix of quiet and loud finally began to work as well as it was meant to, but 1993's Painful was where they truly hit their stride, their first album to confirm they were one of the best independent bands extant. Ira Kaplan's buzzy guitar freakouts had made it to vinyl before, but Painful gave them better context, with songs that were well suited to his noisy style. "Sudden Organ" introduced the Ace-Tone keyboard that would become an important voice in their music, while the droney textures of "Big Day Coming," "The Whole of the Law," and "Superstar-Watcher" were the cornerstones of a key part of the YLT aesthetic over the next two decades. While Georgia Hubley's drumming had been capable enough on YLT's early sides, she played with greater confidence on Painful and revealed a more adventurous sense of rhythm, and her vocals sounded less shy and more sweetly certain. And bassist James McNew had fully integrated himself into the band after making his debut on May I Sing with Me, and if his style was far from flashy, it was an ideal complement to the idiosyncratic but effective sounds Kaplan and Hubley brought to the table. And Yo La Tengo were writing as well as they were playing on Painful, and "From a Motel 6," "I Heard You Looking," "Nowhere Near," and "Big Day Coming" remain key numbers in the band's songbook. Before Painful, Yo La Tengo were a fine band that hadn't quite mastered the recording studio; with this album, they matured into one of indie rock's most consistently satisfying acts, and this was the first in a run of excellent albums that would stretch into the 21st century. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Spin (11/93, p.128) - Highly Recommended - "...PAINFUL is catchier than MAY I SING WITH ME, and more adventurous than FAKEBOOK....Yo La Tengo still has a crush on weird sounds, but when [they] add up to a masterpiece, `genius' isn't even the word..."

Entertainment Weekly (12/31/93, p.115) - Ranked #4 in Entertainment Weekly's list of `The Best & Worst Records Of 1993' - "...Yo La Tengo blend fragile, delicate beauty with raw, bash-it-out crudeness better than anyone..."

Entertainment Weekly (10/8/93, p.54) - "...Guitars, voices, and keyboards shimmer and glide across pastoral melodies that get under your skin and do nice things. But there's a subversive mind at work here..." - Rating: B+

Q (7/00, p.138) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...[They] became remotely sure of least learning that, while shyness is nice enough, it can get a little dull."

Alternative Press (7/95, p.96) - Ranked #75 in AP's list of the `Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...PAINFUL's an album that has the ability to melt even the coldest critic's heart. It starts and ends in one of those odd dream states that really does take you back to your childhood and is all the argument you need to throw out your alarm clock for good..."

Melody Maker (11/20/93, p.34) - "...This is the album Yo La Tengo have waited 8 years to make...A dark, sinister smoulder of an album, resplendent in both ambient menace and often uncomfortable beauty...."

Village Voice (3/1/94, p.5) - Ranked #20 in the Village Voice's 1993 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

NME (Magazine) (11/6/93, p.29) - 8 - Excellent - " the trio have managed to sneak six albums out already and maintain such a low profile is hard to fathom...."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top