Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Proposition [Original Soundtrack] [Digipak]

Album: The Proposition [Original Soundtrack] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Happy Land, folk hymn - (with Warren Ellis)
2)    Proposition, film score: The Proposition No. 1, The
3)    Proposition, film score: Road to Banyon, The - (with Warren Ellis)
4)    Proposition, film score: Down to the Valley, The - (with Warren Ellis)
5)    Proposition, film score: Moan Thing, The - (with Warren Ellis)
6)    Proposition, film score: The Rider No. 1, The
7)    Martha's Dream, song - (with Warren Ellis)
8)    Proposition, film score: Gun Thing, The - (with Warren Ellis)
9)    Queenie's Suite, song - (with Warren Ellis)
10)    Proposition, film score: The Rider No. 2, The
11)    Proposition, film score: The Proposition No. 2, The
12)    Proposition, film score: Sad Violin Thing, The - (with Warren Ellis)
13)    Proposition, film score: The Rider No. 3, The
14)    Proposition, film score: The Proposition No. 3, The
15)    Proposition, film score: The Rider Song, The - (with Warren Ellis)
16)    Clean Hands. Dirty Hands, song - (with Warren Ellis)
17)    Untitled CD-ROM Track
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Australian edition.
  • Composers: Nick Cave; Warren Ellis.
  • Lyricist: Nick Cave.
  • Personnel: Nick Cave (vocals, piano); George Vjestica (guitar); Warren Ellis (violin, loops); Jim White (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Jake Jackson ; Nick Cave; Warren Ellis.
  • Recording information: Edel Studios, London, England.
  • Photographers: Polly Borland; Polly Borland.
  • Arrangers: Nick Cave; Warren Ellis.
  • To accompany the film adaptation of his own screenplay for the outback Western THE PROPOSITION, revered Australian singer/songwriter Nick Cave enlisted his occasional Bad Seeds bandmate, Warren Ellis, to create the moody score. Given the movie's dark, gritty tone, these compositions are appropriately haunting and elegiac, with Ellis's plaintive violin lines meshing hypnotically with Cave's spare piano work and occasional vocal contributions. A darkly beautiful album that will appeal to Nick Cave fans as well as fans of Ellis's other group, the Dirty Three, this evocative soundtrack makes for a fascinating example of musical storytelling.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.96) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "As plausible a soundtrack to life in the 19th-century Australian dustbowl as can be imagined."

The Wire (p.57) - "The music is as bleak and stripped down as the film, swinging between brief textural tone poems and more developed songs....There is a real coherence to these 16 tracks..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Soundtracks » General
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top