Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Rainbow Take Away / That's What You Get Babe

Album: Rainbow Take Away / That's What You Get Babe
# Song Title   Time
1)    Blaming It All on Love
2)    Ballad of a Salesman Who Sold Himself
3)    View from the Mountain, A
4)    Rainbow Takeaway
5)    Waltz for You
6)    Beware of the Dog II
7)    Strange Song
8)    Goodnight Goodnight
9)    Hat Song
10)    That's What You Get
11)    Where Do I Go from Here
12)    You Never Outrun Your Heart
13)    Given and Taken
14)    Idiots
15)    Super Salesman
16)    Money, Money, Money
17)    Miss Hanaga
18)    I'm So Tired
19)    Where Do the Stars End
1)    That's What You Get
2)    Where Do I Go from Here
3)    You Never Outrun Your Heart
4)    Given and Taken
5)    Idiots
6)    Super Salesman
7)    Money, Money, Money
8)    Miss Hanaga
9)    I'm So Tired
10)    Where Do the Stars End
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Hans Zimmer (programming).
  • Audio Mixers: Edwin Cross; Laurie Latham; Rick Walton.
  • Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
  • Liner Note Author: David Wells .
  • Recording information: Vineyard.
  • The two albums packaged in this BGO two-fer, 1978's Rainbow Takeaway and 1980's That's What You Get Babe, reflect the eccentric Kevin Ayers' rather blatant attempts to "go commercial," though the results in both cases were somewhat disquieting at the time. In fact, given Ayers' predilection for the genuine strangeness and the uncompromising music found on his earlier records, he'd lost most of the audience he'd built for himself with these recordings; they represented a rather unfocused period for him that would not end until 1988's beautiful Falling Up. That said, it is quite arguable that in the 21st century, both albums, though uneven, come across better than they did when they were released. Despite the considerable studio firepower on both discs, their proceedings are, for the most part, extremely laid-back and full of nocturnal-sounding arrangements. The prime difference between these albums is that while Ayers and co-producer Anthony Moore knew how to employ the restraint of all these players on the former album and still get plenty of inventive work, when Ayers took the producer's solely on the latter album, his obsession with Hans Zimmer and his Prophet synthesizer dominate throughout and leave the great subtlety of players like guitarist Ollie Halsall, bassist Mo Harris, pianist Graham Preskett, and percussionist Roy Jones in the dust. That said, the songwriting on the album is quite inspired; but Ayers' dry, quirky baritone combined with the production schmaltz was never going to resonate with audiences in the post-disco, new wave era. Stand-out tracks on the reissue include the title tracks from both records, the former album's "Strange Song" and "Hat Song," and the latter's "You Can Never Outrun Your Heart" and the crooner "Where Do the Stars End." This set is not recommended for novitiate Ayers listeners, but for those who've digested the earlier material (Whatevershebringswesing, Joy of a Toy, Bananamour, etc.) and want to go deeper. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top