We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Rose of the San Joaquin


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tom Russell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dave Alvin (vocals); Peter Case (vocals, harmonica); Andrew Hardin (acoustic, electric & high-string guitars, tiple, percussion, background vocals); Greg Leisz (acoustic, electric, high-string, steel & slide guitars, pedal steel guitar, mandolin, background vocals); David Jackson, Chris Gaffney (accordion); Michael Thompson (Hammond B-3 organ); Bob Glaub (bass); Bobby Lloyd Hicks (drums, percussion, background vocals); Don Heffington (drums, percussion); Katy Moffat (background vocals); Trio Los Cristobal.
  • Recorded at Rotund Rascal Studio and West Beach Studios, Hollywood, California from January to May 1995. Includes liner notes by Tom Russell.
  • All songs written or co-written by Tom Russell except "Volver, Volver" (F. Maldonado), "The Gardens" (Chris Gaffney) and "Tramps & Hawkers" (Jim Ringer/Traditional).
  • Personnel: Tom Russell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Peter Case (vocals, harmonica); Andrew Hardin (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, gut-string guitar, tiple, percussion); Greg Leisz (guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, National guitar, dobro, mandolin); Dave Alvin (guitar); Chris Gaffney, David Jackson (accordion); Don Heffington, Bobby Lloyd Hicks (drums, percussion).
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Bobby Lloyd Hicks .
  • Tom Russell has grown consistently in the course of his many albums into one of the most articulate singer/songwriters on the country side of the tracks. His efforts with Barance Whitfield and earlier incarnations of the Tom Russell Band have guitar work by Tom's longtime partner Andrew Hardin. On this record, however, Russell has chosen, along with producers Dave Alvin and Greg Leisz, to create a more linear feel to the album, with each song set feeling like it takes place in the border town Russell has been so good at describing. Each song is a miniature film soundtrack, with characters clearly drawn. "The Sky Above and the Mud Below" is one of the key tracks that truly brings the listener a sense of despair in the middle of nowhere with its slow tempo and plain-spoken telling. It is ominous in the way it builds to the inevitable conclusion as potent after repeated listening as the tragic ending in Russell's earlier Gallo del Ciello. On the other hand, "Out in California" celebrates lust and longing of a different and no less universal loneliness, for that girl with the red dress, driven home by some high-octane playing. "Somebody's Husband, Somebody's Son" (with Peter Case and Dave Alvin) is a hobo's waltz. The album also has some soft lovers ballads. The liner notes include Russell's reminiscence about the appearance and subsequent disappearance of a long lost relative that is perfectly in keeping with the tone of the album's songs. He has carved out a place for himself as a compelling storyteller, and this is one of his strongest albums of the '90s. ~ Richard Meyer
Professional Reviews
Uncut (magazine) (p.96) - "[T]here are clear parallels to the poetic storytelling of Guy Glark....Russell is equally adept with a traditional country strum..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Back to top