We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Rust in Peace [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Holy Wars....The Punishment Due

2. Hangar 18

3. Take No Prisoners

4. Five Magics

5. Poison Was The Cure

6. Lucretia

7. Tornado Of Souls

8. Dawn Petrol

9. Rust In Peace...Polaris

10. My Creation [Outake] [Bonus Track]

11. Rust In Peace...Polaris [Demo] [Bonus Track]

12. Holy Wars...The Punishment Due [Demo] [Bonus Track]

13. Take No Prisoners [Demo] [Bonus Track]

Performer Notes
  • Megadeth: Dave Mustaine, David Ellefson, Marty Friedman, Nick Menza.
  • Personnel: Dave Mustaine (vocals, guitar); Marty Friedman (guitar); David Ellefson (bass guitar, background vocals); Nick Menza (drums, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Max Norman; Ralph Patlan.
  • Audio Remixer: Dave Mustaine.
  • Liner Note Author: Dave Mustaine.
  • Recording information: Rumbo Recorders.
  • Editor: Lance Dean.
  • Photographers: Annamaria DiSanto; Peter Cronin; Eddie Malluk; Gene Kirkland; Neil Zlozower.
  • After the success of PEACE SELLS…BUT WHO'S BUYING? in 1986 and SO FAR, SO GOOD, SO WHAT! in 1988, Megadeth was fast becoming one of thrash metal's leading outfits. However, the band's hard work was nearly derailed because of the continuous dismissals of band members and chronic substance abuse. Founding members Dave Mustaine (guitar/vocals) and Dave Ellefson (bass) changed their ways before work on their fourth album began, hiring drummer Nick Menza and ex-Cacophony guitarist Marty Friedman. When Megadeth re-emerged with RUST IN PEACE in 1990, metalheads were happy to hear that the changes hadn't dulled their attack in the slightest.
  • "Holy Wars…The Punishment Due" is an absolutely crushing opener that shows off the technical expertise of the musicians, while "Hangar 18" covers the familiar ground of alien visitation and government conspiracy. Both videos were put in heavy rotation on MTV's Headbanger's Ball program, which helped land the band a spot on the successful heavy 'Clash of the Titans' tour with Anthrax, Slayer, and Alice In Chains. Other highlights include the heavy hitters "Five Magics," "Lucretia," and "Rust in Peace…Polaris."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/15/90) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "The arrangements...are consistently riveting...[carrying] Megadeth's individuality into a broader, more open musical arena where nobody can touch them."

Spin (12/90) - "...a mature, complex, surprisingly consonant, sparely produced album...Simply put, RUST never sleeps."

Musician (1/91, p.92) - "...Don't mistake Megadeath's apocalyptic imagery for doomsday overkill...even without the lyrics, this band's instrumental attack is so ferocious these songs would sound like the end of the world anyway..."

NME (Magazine) - "...This is a moshing album that really manages to mosh...A veritable treat for the ears...."

Record Collector (magazine) (pp.98-99) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It's stuffed with classics and the full-fat production....A nostalgic essential."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top