We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Shout! The Mod Musical [Original Cast Recording]

Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Composers: Mike Hawker; Donald Black; David Dean White; Lamont Dozier; Lee Hazlewood; Leonard Borisoff; Phil Coulter; Ruthann Friedman; Umberto Bindi; Vito Pallavicini; Ben Weisman; Jim Dale; Burt Bacharach.
  • Lyricists: Gino Paoli; Mitch Murray; Bill Martin ; Donald Black; Dion O'Brien; Ivor Raymonde; Jackie Trent; Lee Hazlewood; Leslie Bricusse; Mark London; Ronald Isley; Rudolph Isley; Ruthann Friedman; Hal David; Anthony Newley.
  • Various Artists: Julie Dingman Evans, Denise Summerford, Erica Schroeder, Marie-France Arcilla, Erin Crosby (vocals); Ira Siegel (guitar); Bradley Vieth (piano, synthesizer); Christopher Stephens (synthesizer); Conrad Korsch (bass guitar); Joe Brady.
  • Personnel: Ira Siegel (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo); Bradley Vieth (piano, synthesizer); Christopher Stephens (synthesizer); Conrad Korsch (acoustic bass, electric bass); Joe Brady (drums, percussion); Steve Skinner (programming).
  • Audio Mixer: Steve Skinner.
  • Recording information: Midtown SOund, New York, NY (08/01/2006).
  • Creators: David Lowenstein; Phillip George.
  • Director: Phillip George.
  • Illustrator: Kathrin Ayer.
  • Photographers: Joan Marcus; Ben Strothmann.
  • Arrangers: Bradley Vieth; Steve Skinner.
  • Shout! The Mod Musical follows five young women growing up in London from 1960 to 1970, setting their lives to the music of British Invasion divas like Lulu, Dusty Springfield, and Petula Clark. Since songs like "I Know a Place," "Don't Sleep in the Subway," and "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me" have a brassy, theatrical sweep anyway, their transition from pop singles to show tunes isn't as jarring as, say, a musical of Bob Dylan or even Billy Joel's songs. The show's gently feminist undercurrents come to the fore on tracks like "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'" and "Georgy Girl," and more poignantly so on "You're My World" and "Puppet on a String." Some of the new arrangements of these songs don't quite work: though the singers are all game, the largely a cappella "James Bond Theme/Goldfinger" manages to be silly, but not entertaining, without visuals accompanying it. Most of the songs here appear in recognizable albeit flashier versions that tend to sound like elaborately staged karaoke to anyone unfamiliar with the context of the musical. Nevertheless, this is a nicely done original cast recording that will appeal to fans of Shout! The Mod Musical, even if it doesn't necessarily capture what made these songs so magical in the first place. ~ Heather Phares
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top