Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

A Single Girl

Album: A Single Girl: The Very Best of the MGM Recordings
# Song Title   Time
1)    Born a Woman
2)    Single Girl
3)    Blue Is My Best Color
4)    Arms Full of Sin
5)    Satin Pillows
6)    Just Out of Reach
7)    What a Woman in Love Won't Do
8)    Shattered
9)    Hey Mister
10)    Patterns
11)    I'm Your Puppet
12)    Here Comes My Baby Back Again
13)    Don't Touch Me
14)    I Take It Back
15)    Boy I Love, The
16)    Come Softly to Me
17)    Sunglasses
18)    Are You Never Coming Home
19)    Take Me With You Baby
20)    Something I'll Remember
21)    Deep in Kentucky
22)    Will You Love Me Tomorrow
23)    One Man Woman
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Peter Doggett.
  • Recording information: 03/1966-03/1968.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Harry Young; Tony Rounce; Bob Fisher .
  • Arrangers: Bill McElhiney; Jim Hall.
  • This replaced Collectables' mid-'90s collection, The Best of Sandy Posey, as the best overview of the artist's 1960s material, and hence the best Posey record available. It has 23 tracks where The Best of Sandy Posey has only 14, and has extensive liner notes with quotes from Posey herself, whereas the Collectables release had typically (for that label) scant annotation. Actually The Best of Sandy Posey does have four songs that don't appear on A Single Girl, but the latter album does include the hits that anyone searching for a Posey best-of would demand: "Born a Woman," "Single Girl," "What a Woman in Love Won't Do," and "I Take It Back." Though on the whole the music is rather unadventurous, in its time it struck a peculiar chord: countrypolitan songs that on occasion crossed over to the pop audience (sometimes even in Britain) in a big way, with some echoes of rock, soul (particularly on "What a Woman in Love Won't Do," "One Man Woman," and "Hey Mister"), easy listening pop, and dippy submissive teen idol/girl group vocal flavors that were anachronistic by the time these were made in 1966-1968. There are some big name writers here -- Dan Penn-Spooner Oldham, John D. Loudermilk, and Joe South -- but their contributions aren't nearly as memorable or biting as the songs for which they're most famous. Even though many of these tracks frankly aren't striking, there are some fair non-hits here, particularly those that go into some (for countrypolitan) unusually brooding pop melodies, like "Shattered" and "Patterns." ~ Richie Unterberger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top