Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Singles
# Song Title   Time
1)    Night of Fear
2)    I Can Hear the Grass Grow
3)    Flowers in the Rain
4)    Fire Brigade
5)    Blackberry Way
6)    Curly
7)    Brontosaurus
8)    Tonight
9)    Chinatown
10)    California Man
11)    Ball Park Incident
12)    See My Baby Jive
13)    Dear Elaine
14)    Angel Fingers (A Teen Ballad)
15)    Forever
16)    I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday
17)    Rock & Roll Winter
18)    Goin' Down the Road (A Scottish Reggae Song)
19)    This Is the Story of My Love (Baby)
20)    Are You Ready to Rock
21)    Oh What a Shame
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Roy Wood (vocals, guitar, keyboards).
  • Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
  • This 21-song set is representative of Roy Wood's always inventive work with the Move, Wizzard, and as a solo artist. It contains no fewer than three U.K. number one hits, in addition to the seasonal "I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day," and which usually makes a chart appearance during the holidays. And the sound quality is uniformly fine, which certainly hasn't been the case with some reissues like The Best of & the Rest of Roy Wood & Wizzard, which is something of a companion piece to this disc. The songs range from the strongly Beatles-influenced early Move singles ("Blackberry Way") to their heavier, later material ("California Man" and "Brontosaurus," both of which have been covered by Cheap Trick) to the Phil Spector homages of Wood's rock & roll big band Wizzard ("See My Baby Jive," "Ball Park Incident," and "Angel Fingers") to sumptuous solo pop confections ("This Is the Story of My Love"). A gifted writer, arranger, and producer, Wood is an underappreciated original whose music should appeal to any fan of classic rock and pop. (As a bonus, the booklet reveals "Roy's" given name.) ~ James A. Gardner
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top