Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Paul Simon presents his eagerly anticipated new album, 'So Beautiful or So What'. Produced by Phil Ramone and Paul Simon, the ten track album -- his 12th solo studio record -- sees Simon crafting his songs around harmony and song structure, instead of the beat-driven form of writing which has inspired him since the mid-1980s.

Recording the demos in the equipment packed cottage next to his house in Connecticut, guitarist Vincent Nguini and percussionist Steve Shehan offered up their talents, as did Grizzly Bear's drummer, Chris Bear, who contributed electronic drum parts.

Taking more than a year to perfect, Simon has revealed that 'So Beautiful or So What' reminds him of his very first solo release, his acclaimed 1972 album 'Paul Simon'.

1. Getting Ready For Christmas Day
2. The Afterlife
3. Dazzling Blue
4. Rewrite
5. Love And Hard Times
6. Love Is Eternal Sacred Light
7. Amulet
8. Questions For The Angels
9. Love And Blessings
10. So Beautiful Or So What
Album: So Beautiful or So What [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Getting Ready For Christmas Day More Info... 4:07
2)    The Afterlife More Info... 3:40
3)    Dazzling Blue More Info... 4:32
4)    Rewrite More Info... 3:50
5)    Love And Hard Times More Info... 4:09
6)    Love Is Eternal Sacred Light More Info... 4:02
7)    Amulet More Info... 1:37
8)    Questions For The Angels More Info... 3:50
9)    Love And Blessings More Info... 4:18
10)    So Beautiful Or So What More Info... 4:09
Product Details

Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Phil Ramone.
  • Liner Note Author: Elvis Costello.
  • Photographer: Mark Seliger.
  • Produced by longtime collaborator Phil Ramone, Paul Simon's So Beautiful or So What features guitarist Vincent Nguini, percussionist Steve Shehan, backing vocals from Simon's wife, Edie Brickell, and his daughter, Lulu, and a generous helping of the bluegrass group Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.71) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[F]ull of heavy business: life's meaning, beauty, brutality and brevity....It's his best album since 1990's THE RHYTHM OF THE SAINTS, and it also sums up much of what makes Simon great."

Rolling Stone (p.68) - Ranked #3 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[Simon's] best album in more than 20 years..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.86) - "[T]he GRACELAND-ic guitar figures still emphasize rhythm above all....Spirited spirituality is his goal these days.' -- Grade: B+

Billboard (p.32) - "The album's songwriting and sound are deceptively complex, gradually revealing their intricacy with each listen. It's natural and earthy, with acoustic instrumentation and percussion to the fore."

Uncut (magazine) (p.32) - Ranked #29 in Uncut's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[A]n impeccably crafted, erudite and rueful collection of songs that tackled spirituality with both sureness and lightness of touch."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top