We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Somebody Else's Troubles


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This 1999 reissue contains two bonus tracks.
  • Personnel includes: Steve Goodman (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Maria Muldaur (vocals); Jack McGann (acoustic guitar, accordion); Steve Burgh (electric guitar, mandolin, bass); Mark Horowitz (electric guitar, banjo); David Bromberg, Hugh McCracken (electric guitar); Bill Keith (pedal steel guitar, bass); Larry Packer, Ken Kosek (fiddle); Charles McCracken (cello); Jerry Burnham (flute); David Newman (tenor saxophone); Willie Bridges (bass saxophone); Bob Dylan (piano, background vocals); Arif Mardin, Jeff Gutchen (piano); Hugh McDonald (bass); Steve Mosley (drums); Eddie Brigati, David Brigati (background vocals).
  • Producer: Arif Mardin.
  • Reissue producer: Mike Ragogna.
  • Engineers: Harry Yarmark, Lewis Hahn, Gene Paul.
  • Recorded at Bell Studios & Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, New York. Originally released on Buddah (5121). Includes liner notes by David McGee.
  • Digitally remastered by Elliott Federman (SAJE Sound, New York, New York).
  • Personnel: Steve Goodman (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Robert Milkwood Thomas, Bob Dylan (vocals, piano); David Brigati, Eddie Brigati (vocals, background vocals); Maria Muldaur (vocals); Jack McGann (guitar, acoustic guitar, accordion); David Bromberg (guitar, electric guitar, dobro, mandolin); Mark Horowitz (guitar, electric guitar, banjo); Steve Burgh (guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Hugh McCracken (guitar, electric guitar); Hugh McDonald (electric guitar); Bill Keith (steel guitar, banjo); Larry Packer (violin, fiddle); Kenny Kosek (fiddle); Charles McCracken (cello); Jerry Barnham, Jerry Burnham (flute); David "Fathead" Newman (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Willie Bridges (saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone); Jeff Gutcheon (piano, keyboards); Arif Mardin (piano); Steve Mosley (drums, sound effects).
  • Audio Remixer: Arif Mardin.
  • Liner Note Author: David McGee.
  • Recording information: Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, NY; Bell Sound Studios.
  • Photographer: Michael O'Sullivan.
  • Goodman's sophomore effort is a bit folkier than his debut. He may have flippantly described it as a "buncha Jewish guys sitting around playing the blues," but it's just as memorable as its predecessor. Excellent guest turns abound from friends Maria Muldaur (harmonies on the funny "Don't Do Me Any Favors Anymore") and Bob Dylan (operating under the pseudonym Robert Milkwood Thomas - get it? - on the title song).
  • Other highpoints include the anti-vegetarian anthem "Chicken Cordon Bleus," ("Vegetarians worry me," Goodman was on record as saying), and a bonus track live version of Shel Silverstein's hilarious "I'm My Own Grandpa." The emotional centerpiece, however, is the devastating solo acappella anti-Vietnam song "The Ballad of Penny Evans."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top