Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Standing at the Sky's Edge

Album: Standing at the Sky's Edge
# Song Title   Time
1)    She Brings the Sunlight
2)    Standing at the Sky's Edge
3)    Time Will Bring You Winter
4)    Down in the Woods
5)    Seek It
6)    Don't Stare at the Sun
7)    Wood Collier's Grave, The
8)    Leave Your Body Behind You
9)    Before
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Richard Hawley (vocals, guitar); Shez Sheridan (guitar, background vocals); Martin Simpson (guitar); Jon Trier (piano, keyboards); Colin Elliot (electric bass, percussion, background vocals); Dean Beresford (drums); Sally Doherty, Louise Thompson, Simon Robinson (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Alan Moulder.
  • Creator: Felix Rashman.
  • Photographer: Richard Tailby.
  • Despite issuing two records steeped in orchestral pop, songwriter and guitar slinger Richard Hawley never got rock & roll out of his system. Perhaps because of his participation in Pulp's reunion shows, or his Arctic Monkeys collaboration, Hawley -- who switched from Mute to Parlophone -- decided on a back-to-rock & roll approach for the highly textured, psych-drenched Standing at the Sky's Edge. The album features nine cuts fueled by two very aggressive guitars, bass, drums, and "rocket sounds" much of it recorded live in the studio.
Professional Reviews
Q (Magazine) (p.104) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Hawley wields his guitar with fresh zeal, unfurling long, turbulent solos while his chocolatey baritone is less Roy Orbison, more Mark Lanegan."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.84) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "His craftsman's melodiousness and honest voice add balm and balance. 'Seek It' is a lilting and persuasive ode to romantic attachment..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.75) - "The opener, 'She Brings The Sunlight', kicks the doors off with a wail of noisy, electric guitars, while the title track is a layered guitar landscape..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top