Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Stooges [Deluxe Edition] [Slipcase]

Album: The Stooges [Deluxe Edition] [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    1969
2)    I Wanna Be Your Dog
3)    We Will Fall
4)    No Fun
5)    Real Cool Time
6)    Ann
7)    Not Right
8)    Little Doll
1)    No Fun - (Original John Cale Mix, previously unreleased)
2)    1969 - (Original John Cale Mix, previously unreleased)
3)    I Wanna Be Your Dog - (Original John Cale Mix, previously unreleased)
4)    Little Doll - (Original John Cale Mix, previously unreleased)
5)    1969 - (previously unreleased, alternate take, alternate vocal)
6)    I Wanna Be Your Dog - (previously unreleased, alternate take, alternate vocal)
7)    Not Right - (previously unreleased, alternate take, alternate vocal)
8)    Real Cool Time - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased, alternate take)
9)    Ann - (previously unreleased, full version)
10)    No Fun - (previously unreleased, full version)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Stooges: Iggy Stooge (vocals); Ron Asheton (guitar); Dave Alexander (bass); Scott Asheton (drums).
  • Additional personnel: John Cale (violin).
  • Includes liner notes by Danny Fields.
  • The Stooges: Dave Alexander (bass guitar); Scott Asheton, Iggy Pop, Ron Asheton.
  • Personnel: Iggy Pop (vocals); Ron Asheton (guitar); John Cale (viola); Scott Asheton (drums).
  • Additional personnel: John Cale (violin).
  • Liner Note Author: Ben Edmonds.
  • Authors: Iggy Pop; Alice Cooper.
  • Photographers: Joel Brodsky; Leni Sinclair; Tom Copi; Charlie Auringer; Robert Matheu.
  • The Stooges hurled themselves headfirst into 1969 with a debut so sonically ferocious that only one-time Velvet Underground member John Cale could do it justice as a producer. With a full-scale feedback punch, The Stooges' musical bite tore its way towards punk and what would later be called grunge.
  • Fully embracing the idioms of teenage life, THE STOOGES coined previously unmentioned terms of adolescent angst. "No Fun," "Not Right," and "I Wanna Be Your Dog" gave vocabulary to the post-hippie generation yearning to voice its dissatisfaction. The opening track, "1969," built off the teen-angst of "Summertime Blues" but offered the simplest breakdown of powerlessness to date. "Another year for me and you," says Iggy Stooge, "another year with nothing to do." The Stooges' triumph was in converting the confusion and desires of teenage life into chaotic, three-chord bliss. Often mimicked, but never equalled, THE STOOGES was the call for a new era of rock.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.136) - Ranked #185 in Rolling Stone's "The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"

Entertainment Weekly (p.66) - "[I]ts nihilistic high points planted the seed of a musical revolution." -- Grade: B+

Q (1/94, p.119) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...a marvelous celebration of Iggy Stooge's leering persona..."

Uncut (p.120) - 5 stars out of 5 - "[A] dynamo coiled with electric essence, something you can use to recharge your existence today, tomorrow, forever."

Vibe (12/99, p.164) - Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century

Mojo (Publisher) (p.81) - "[E]ach song was put down live in one take, a necessity of time and budget, but also so as not to lose the group's energy and spontaneity..."

Mojo (Publisher) (7/02, p.162) - "...They gave birth to a high-energy take on 3-chord rock'n'roll that was as heavy as adolescence and primitive enough to be avant garde..."

NME (Magazine) (10/2/93, p.29) - Ranked #62 in NME's list of the `Greatest Albums Of All Time.'
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top