We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Don Lanphere Quintet includes: Don Lanphere (saxophone); Jon Pugh, Marc Seales.
  • Recorded in New York, New York and Seattle, Washington.
  • Personnel: Don Lanphere (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Marc Seales (piano); Chuck Deardorf (acoustic bass, electric bass); Dean Hodges (drums).
  • Recording information: 08/22/1983-01/04/1986.
  • An excellent all-around set by Don Lanphere (who doubles on tenor and soprano), this release from the Scottish Hep label features Lanphere in several settings. He performs four numbers, including "There's No You" and "The Preacher," in a quintet with trumpeter Jon Pugh, pianist Marc Seales, bassist Chuck Deardorf and drummer Dean Hodges; he explores "Body and Soul" with the same group (without Pugh); he takes "Laura" as a spontaneous duet with bassist Deardorf, and teams up with Pugh on two other straight-ahead originals in a different quintet with pianist Don Friedman. No matter what the setting, the underrated Don Lanphere is heard throughout in top form. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top