We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Damned includes: Dave Vanian (vocals); Captain Sensible (guitar, bass); Rat Scabies (drums).
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Finding their feet again after yet another career misstep, the Damned emerged with STRAWBERRIES, their fifth studio album in as many years. With their line-up more or less stable at this point, it features Dave Vanian's more assured vocals and the more-pop-by-the-minute keyboards and guitars of Captain Sensible.
  • STRAWBERRIES evokes the best of the Stranglers with a touch of XTC thrown in. Well produced by the band themselves, aurally it's a great improvement over previous efforts, and even includes a lyric sheet. From the catch-a-fire punk of "Ignite," the album moves on to new-wave pop with "Generals" and "Stranger on the Town." "Dozen Girls" foreshadows the gothic Damned of the near future, while "The Dog," STRAWBERRIES' most interesting track, fortifies their creepy vampiric image. For un-cynical punks in love, there's also the surprisingly bouncy un-cynical love song "The Pleasure and the Pain," and its companion "Life Goes On." An enjoyable album and highly recommended.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.119) - 3 stars out of 5 - "STRAWBERRIES saw The Damned ditch the experimentalism of 1980's THE BLACK ALBUM for a sharper, leaner sound."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Gothic
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top