We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Superchunk: Mac McCaughan, Jack McCook (vocals, guitar); Laura Ballance (bass, background vocals); Chuck Garrison (drums).
  • Recorded at Duck Kee Studios, Chapel Hill, North Carolina on December 18 & 19, 1990.
  • Personnel: Superchunk (drum set); Mac McCaughan (vocals, guitar); Jack McCook (guitar, background vocals); Laura Ballance (bass guitar, background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Matthew Barnhart.
  • Liner Note Authors: Jack McCook; Laura Ballance; Mac McCaughan.
  • Recording information: Duck Kee Studios (01/18/1990/01/19/1990).
  • Photographers: Mac McCaughan; Buffy.
  • This self-titled debut from Chapel Hill's finest proves that Superchunk's fledgling material is just as satisfyingly ambiguous as the group's more polished later albums. While the shouted vocals on a track like "Sick to Move" might remind one of the work of other artists, the song never explicitly reveals its influences. SUPERCHUNK reveals a group firmly establishing itself as the sole practitioner of an idiosyncratic genre of indie rock. "Swinging" and "My Noise" are good examples of the power of Superchunk's spell, and "Slack Motherfucker," perhaps the best song ever written about menial labor, is the icing on the cake. SUPERCHUNK is a great collection for neophytes and old fogies alike.
Professional Reviews
Spin (2/91) - "Sing-along choruses, scratchy vocals, relationship problems, and loud guitars...Superchunk spices up the usual recipe of melodic emotional punk rock with an occasional speed-metal ascending chord progression, pulling off the trick of sounding fresh and smart in a familiar genre."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top