We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Superfuzz Bigmuff


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Mudhoney: Mark Arm, Steve Turner (guitar, vocals); Matt Lukin (bass); Dan Peters (drums).
  • Recorded at Reciprocal Recording, Seattle, Washington.
  • Audio Mixers: Jack Endino; Johnny Sangster.
  • Audio Remixer: Johnny Sangster.
  • Liner Note Author: Charles Peterson .
  • Recording information: KCSB, Santa Barbara, CA (04/15/1988-02/23/1989); Metropol, Berlin, Germany (04/15/1988-02/23/1989); Raciprocal Recording, Seattle, WA (04/15/1988-02/23/1989).
  • Photographers: Michael Lavine; Charles Peterson .
  • Rock & roll got a badly needed revitalizing overhaul with Seattle's grunge explosion of the late 1980's, and Mudhoney was there to make sure it got done right. Although nearly eclipsed by the success of such bands as Nirvana and Pearl Jam, Mudhoney was arguably the most important grunge band of all. Their "Touch Me I'm Sick" defined a generation of disenchanted middle-class malcontents bored stiff by the predictable mire that rock & roll had become.
  • SUPERFUZZ BIG MUFF compiles the band's rare early singles in one convenient package. Twelve essential tracks here, and they all rock mightily. If you're old enough you'll want to say that you were there--if you know what you're talking about, folks might believe you. Do yourself a favor and familiarize yourself with the rock & roll revival that was Mudhoney.
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.116) - "[T]here were plenty of garage nuggets buried in the Seattle slop, and no band when prospecting more gleefully than Mudhoney."

Uncut (p.104) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "When it was first released SUPERFUZZ...came out of nowhere and blindsided you. Now, even though the references may be a little more identifiable, it still hits like a force of nature."

Alternative Press (7/95, p.80) - Ranked #17 in AP's list of the `Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...anger, boredom and various vices fuel the atomic bash that [is] SUPERFUZZ. It [is] a succinct explosion..."

Q (Magazine) (p.121) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t still sounds fresh, thanks to its timeless garage-band riffage and the infectious quality of much of the material..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.120) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Grunge pathfinders, their six-track mini-LP still sounds wild 20 years on..."

Paste (magazine) (p.80) - "Filled out with demos, a Sonic Youth cover, a contemporaneous live set from Berlin and a radio session from Santa Barbara, the Seattle quartet hammers with a youthful abandon that keeps it miraculously unscathed."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.100) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t sounds as mighty as ever....Among the many, many extra tracks are awesome singles 'Touch Me I'm Sick and 'You Got It (Keep It Outta My Face)'..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top