Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

This Is the Sea [Digipak]

Album: This Is the Sea [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Don't Bang the Drum
2)    Whole of the Moon, The
3)    Spirit
4)    Pan Within, The
5)    Medicine Bow
6)    Old England
7)    Be My Enemy
8)    Trumpets
9)    This Is the Sea
1)    Beverly Penn
2)    Sleek White Schooner
3)    Medicine Bow [Full Length]
4)    Medicine Jack
5)    High Far Soon
6)    Even the Trees Are Dancing
7)    Towers Open Fire
8)    This Is the Sea [Live]
9)    Then You Hold Me
10)    Spirit [Full Length]
11)    Miracle
12)    I Am Not Here
13)    Sweet Thing
14)    Waves, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Remasterers: Chris Blair; Mike Scott .
  • Recording information: Livingstone Studios, London (03/1985-08/1985); Park Gates (03/1985-08/1985); TownHouse (03/1985-08/1985); Livingstone Studios, London (04/01/1985-01/03/1985); Park Gates (04/01/1985-01/03/1985); TownHouse (04/01/1985-01/03/1985); Livingstone Studios, London (1985); Park Gates (1985); TownHouse (1985).
  • Photographers: Lynn Goldsmith; Patrick Durand; Philippe Herriau; Steve Gullick ; Robert Vavra; Shereen Hamilton; Tim Platt.
  • Released in 1985, THIS IS THE SEA stands as the Waterboys' most ambitious and impressive record. The Scottish band takes the majestic, Phil Spector-influenced "Big Sound" of the era, and applies it to grand tales of the ocean and the countryside. While singer/songwriter Mike Scott's plaintive vocals and cinematic lyrics are prominent, the album's shimmering production also showcases the bold layers of instrumentation and lush arrangements. "The Whole of the Moon" spotlights the regal keyboard lines of Karl Wallinger (who would soon leave to form World Party), providing a nice contrast to moodier tracks such as "The Pan Within," a mythology-heavy song that glides along on a slinky melody, and "Medicine Bow," an urgent, expansive guitar-fueled rocker. Scott masterfully caps off the album with the jangling title track, evoking a glorious sense of liberation while sailing into the sunset. (Note: The 2004 reissue of THIS IS THE SEA includes an outstanding bonus disc that culls 14 tracks from Scott's archives, and features a bevy of previously unreleased songs.)
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top