We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Tony Gable & 206


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tony Gable (vocals, congas, bongos, percussion); Kenny G (soprano & tenor saxophones); John Goforth (alto saxophone); Darren Motamedy (tenor saxophone); Robert Damper, Bela Havasretti (piano, keyboards); John Raymond (keyboards, guitars, synthesizer, electric bass, drum programming); Larry Mills (keyboards, synthesizer, electric bass, percussion); Divyam Ambodha (keyboards, drum programming); Manuel Carillo (keyboards); Chad Quist, Glen Lorbecki, Michael Powers (guitar); Joe Plass (electric bass); Ben Smith (drums); Nonda Tremis (bongos, congas, percussion); Steve Peterson (drum programming); Leroy Bell, Lorrie McKenna, Andre Montague (background vocals).
  • Engineers include: Glen Lorbiecki, Larry Brewer, Rick Eaks.
  • Recorded at The Music Source, Robert Lang Studios, London Bridge Studios and Studio G, Seattle, Washington.
  • Personnel: Tony Gable (vocals, congas, bongos, percussion, background vocals); John Raymond (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, electric bass, drums, congas, bongos, percussion, drum programming); Chad Quist, Glen Lorbiecki, Charles Jones, Michael Powers (guitar); Kenny G (soprano saxophone); John Goforth (alto saxophone); Darren Motamedy (tenor saxophone); Bela Havasretti (piano, keyboards, synthesizer, drums); Robert Damper (piano, keyboards); Divyam Ambodha (keyboards, synthesizer, drums, drum programming); Larry Mills (keyboards, electric bass, percussion); Manuel Carrillo (keyboards); Steve Peterson (synthesizer, drums, drum programming); Joe Plass (electric bass); Ben Smith (drums); Nonda Tremis (congas, bongos, percussion); Andre Montague, Lorrie McKenna, Leroy Bell (background vocals).
  • Recording information: London Bridge Studios, Seattle, WA; Music Source, Seattle, WA; Robert Lang Studios, Seattle, WA.
  • For many musicians, there comes a time when being a successful sideman isn't enough and a true artist with a unique voice emerges. With the release of this album, Kenny G's longtime percussionist finally emerged from the shadows and whipped up his own brand of melodic and aggressive smooth jazz. Gable and his band (named after their Seattle area code) show the kind of playful sensibilities which propelled the G man to the peak of the genre. Add to this the intensely grooving nature of Gable's playing style and elements of soul and funk deriving from his extensive background in these areas, and the result was one of 1993's best debuts. The collection is highlighted by performances by guitarist John Raymond (who also produced), keyboardist Bela Havasretti and Kenny G himself, who produced two tracks. "The Slip" sets the tone with a cool, funky groove and Raymond's tight electric lines being balanced with Gable's lush soundscaping. Kenny G's trademark soprano blends wonderfully with Gable's romantic vocal style on the seductive Quiet Storm ballad "Island Lady." Unfortunately, after one other charting album, Gable & 206 went MIA. ~ Jonathan Widran
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top