Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Trinity Session

Album: The Trinity Session
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mining for Gold
2)    Misguided Angel
3)    Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis)
4)    I Don't Get It
5)    I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
6)    To Love Is to Bury
7)    200 More Miles
8)    Dreaming My Dreams With You
9)    Working on a Building
10)    Sweet Jane
11)    Postcard Blues
12)    Walkin' After Midnight
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Cowboy Junkies: Margo Timmins (vocals); Michael Timmins (guitar); Alan Anton (bass); Peter Timmins (drums).
  • Additional personnel: John Timmins (guitar, background vocals); Kim Deschamps (guitars, dobro); Jeff Bird (fiddle, mandolin, harmonica); Steve Shearer (harmonica); Jaro Czerwinec (accordion).
  • Recorded live at The Church Of The Holy Trinity, Toronto, Canada on November 27, 1987.
  • Personnel: Margo Timmins (vocals); Kim Deschamps (guitar, steel guitar, dobro); John Timmins (guitar, background vocals); Michael Timmins (guitar); Jeff Bird (mandolin, fiddle, harmonica); Steve Shearer (harmonica); Jaro Czerwinec (accordion); Peter Timmins (drums).
  • Recording information: Church Of The Holy Trinity, Toronto, Canada (11/27/1987).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Margo Timmins; Michael Timmins; Alan Anton; Peter Timmins.
  • Formed in Toronto by siblings Micheal, Peter, and Margo Timmins, The Cowboy Junkies purvey a surreal brand of moody, slow motion country music. THE TRINITY SESSIONS was recorded with a single microphone in Toronto's Church of the Holy Trinity (hence the title), an engineering circumstance that has everything to do with the record's stark, spacious atmosphere. Bass and lightly brushed drums provide a soft, pulsating background, while gentle guitar embellishments weave around singer Margo's haunting vocal performances.
  • While it is the record's many covers-including treatments of the Velvet Underground's "Sweet Jane," Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry," and Patsy Cline's "Walking After Midnight"-that first catch a listener's attention, the originals also sparkle. "Misguided Angel," in particular, received a good deal of airplay. The combination of gentle, smoky atmospherics and the somewhat unsettling distention of conventional country song structures make THE TRINITY SESSIONS an intriguing and worthwhile listen.
Professional Reviews
Spin (1/89, pp.70-71) - "...a distinctive musical vision, sweet, subtle, and strange..."

CMJ (1/5/04, p.26) - Ranked #15 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1989"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top