Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Up in the Air

Album: Up in the Air
# Song Title   Time
1)    This Land Is Your Land - Sharon Jones/The Dap-Kings/Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
2)    Security Ballet - Rolfe Kent
3)    Goin' Home - Dan Auerbach
4)    Taken At All - Crosby, Stills & Nash/The Stills
5)    Angel In The Snow - Elliott Smith
6)    Help Yourself - Sad Brad Smith
7)    Genova - Charles Atlas
8)    Lost In Detroit - Rolfe Kent
9)    Thank You Lord - Roy Buchanan
10)    Be Yourself - Graham Nash
11)    Snow Before Us, The - Charles Atlas
12)    Up In The Air - Kevin Renick
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Jason Reitman.
  • Editor: Dana E. Glauberman.
  • Jason Reitman's Up in the Air is set in airports and boardrooms across the United States, opening itself up to a soundtrack like the one Randall Poster and Rick Clark assembled: a collection of songs that speak to what America is today. Not for nothing does the movie and album open with Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings' funky Southern soul revamping of Woody Guthrie's "This Land Is Your Land" -- not only does it give a contemporary spin on a standard, it gives away how the album is based in blues and folk. If anything, the scale tips decidedly toward the latter, with blues-rockers Dan Auerbach and Roy Buchanan represented by atypically acoustic strummers, all the better to fit as the sound of the rest of the record, which is firmly within 2009's indie folk scene and anchored by two cuts from the Crosby, Stills & Nash camp. All this reflective picking is designed to complement the inward journey of George Clooney's lead character, and sometimes the music underscores the introspection a might bit hard, but much of this is sweet, gentle, and, in the case of the title cut by Kevin Renick -- a singer/songwriter who was laid off of his job, just like so many characters in the film, and submitted the song to Reitman unsolicited - quite moving.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Soundtracks » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top