We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Waiting for Columbus


Product Description
Product Details


1. Join The Band

2. Fat Man In The Bathtub

3. All That You Dream

4. Oh Atlanta

5. Old Folks' Boogie

6. Time Loves A Hero

7. Day Or Night

8. Mercenary Territory

9. Spanish Moon

10. Dixie Chicken

11. Tripe Face Boogie

12. Rocket In My Pocket

13. Willin'

14. Sailin' Shoes

15. Feats Don't Fail Me Now

Performer Notes
  • Little Feat: Lowell George, Kenny Gradney, Bill Payne, Sam Clayton, Richie Hayward and Paul Barrere.
  • Documents the live show of a true "concert band," Little Feat's reputation
  • rested on its live performances, which were particularly popular in the South. This was the most successful album for Little Feat, reaching number 18 on the album charts.
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD, with 2 songs, "Don't Bogart That Joint" and "Apolitical Blues" omitted. These 2 songs can be found as extra tracks on the CD THE LAST RECORD ALBUM.
  • WAITING FOR COLUMBUS: DELUXE EDITION contains WAITING FOR COLUMBUS as well as ten tracks recorded during the same tour that were not included in the original album. It also contains previously unreleased outtakes.
  • Little Feat includes: Lowell George (vocals, guitar, maracas, cowbell);
  • Paul Barrere (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Kenny Gradney (bass); Richie Hayward (drums, percussion, background vocals); Sam Clayton (congas, percussion, background vocals).
  • Additional personnel includes: Mick Taylor (guitar); Tower Of Power (horns); Michael McDonald, Patrick Simmons (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Lowell George, Bill Payne, George Massenburg, Paul Barrere.
  • Compilation producers: Gary Peterson, Bill Payne, Paul Barrere.
  • Engineers include: George Massenburg, Warren Dewey, Andy Bloch.
  • Recorded live at the Rainbow Theatre, London, England; The Lisner Auditorium,
  • Washington, D.C. in August 1977. Includes liner notes by Bud Scoppa.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Lowell George, Paul Barr‚re (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Richie Hayward (vocals, drums); Sam Clayton (vocals, congas, percussion); Elliot Ingber (guitar); Emilio Castillo, Lenny Pickett , Stephen "Doc" Kupka (saxophone); Greg Adams (trumpet); Mic Gillette (horns).
  • Recording information: 08/02/1977-08/10/1977.
  • Illustrator: Neon Park.
  • Arranger: Lowell George.
  • The original CD release of Little Feat's 1977 live album WAITING FOR COLUMBUS, like so many catalogue releases in the early days of the CD format, was truncated by two songs, "Don't Bogart That Joint" and "A Apolitical Blues." The 2002 expanded edition of the disc replaces those songs by placing side four of the original vinyl onto disc two, and follows it up with ten more live tracks, three of which had previously appeared on the 1981 rarities album HOY HOY. Recorded towards the end of Little Feat's original incarnation, WAITING FOR COLUMBUS has the boogie-oriented country and blues-rock tinges of the group's early sound, expanded into the lengthier, fusion-oriented jams that were their later focus. Yet Little Feat were always a tightly disciplined unit, and even the lengthiest songs here, like the nine-minute take on their signature song "Dixie Chicken," keep from sliding into mere aimless jamming. Although some of the bonus tracks are a little more shambolic, hard-rocking gems like the smoking "Teenage Nervous Breakdown" more than make up for them.
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (6/02, p.126) - "...This is a corker..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top