Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Weavers at Carnegie Hall

Album: The Weavers at Carnegie Hall
# Song Title   Time
1)    Darling Corey
2)    Kisses Sweeter Than Wine
3)    Pay Me My Money Down
4)    Greensleeves
5)    Rock Island Line
6)    'Round the World
7)    Wimoweh
8)    Vena Jaleo
9)    Suliram
10)    Shalom Chavarim
11)    Lonesome Traveller
12)    I Know Where I'm Going
13)    Woody's Rag and 900 Miles
14)    Sixteen Tones
15)    Follow the Drinking Gourd
16)    When the Saints Go Marching In
17)    I've Got a Home In That Rock
18)    Hush Little Baby
19)    Go Where I Send Thee
20)    Goodnight Irene
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Weavers: Ronnie Gilbert, Lee Hays (vocals), Fred Hellerman (vocals, guitar), Pete Seeger (vocals, banjo, recorder, mandolin).
  • Recorded at Carnegie Hall, New York on December 24, 1955. Includes liner notes by Nancy Toff.
  • One of the finest concert recordings, THE WEAVERS AT CARNEGIE HALL is also one of the Weavers' best remembered albums.
  • The Weavers first got attention in New York, performing at the Village Vanguard in 1949. They had hits in 1950 ("Good Night, Irene" and "Kisses Sweeter Than Wine"), launching a popular folk music movement almost single-handed by performing traditional songs and songs by folk artists like Huddie Ledbetter or Woody Guthrie. But in 1952, the group was blacklisted by the House Un-American Activies Committee, forcing them to disband.
  • THE WEAVERS AT CARNEGIE HALL presents their reunion, after a lull of three years, a sold-out concert with a rapturous audience. The Weavers play a lively set of folk songs from around the world, sprinkled with hits. The album sold well, and the Weavers continued to defy the blacklist until they broke up in 1963 (they continued to gather for various reunion concerts until Lee Hays death in 1987).
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.1120) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "They sang folk songs, work songs and protest flag-wavers, as befitting a group that had emerged from the ashes of Woody Guthrie's Almanac Singers."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top