We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Who Are You [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The 1996 reissue of WHO ARE YOU contains 5 previously-unreleased bonus tracks.
  • The Who: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer, bass, drums); John Entwistle (vocals, synthesizer, bass); Roger Daltrey (vocals); Keith Moon (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Rod Argent (piano, synthesizer); Andy Fairweather-Low (background vocals).
  • Reissue producers: John Astley, Andy MacPherson.
  • Originally released on MCA (3050) on August 25, 1978. Includes liner notes by Matt Resnicoff.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • The Who: Roger Daltrey (vocals); Pete Townsend (vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer); John Entwistle (vocals, horns, synthesizer, bass); Keith Moon (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Rod Argent (piano, synthesizer); Andy Fairweather-Low (background vocals).
  • Personnel: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Roger Daltrey (vocals, harmonica); John Entwistle (vocals, horns, keyboards, synthesizer, bass guitar); Keith Moon (vocals, drums, percussion); Ted Astley (strings); Rod Argent (piano, synthesizer); Andy Fairweather Low (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
  • Audio Remixers: Jon Astley; Andy MacPherson.
  • Liner Note Author: Matt Resnicoff.
  • Recording information: Goring Studios (10/1977-04/1978); Olympic Studios, London, England (10/1977-04/1978); RAK Studios, St. John's Wood (10/1977-04/1978); Ramport Studios, Battersea, Ontario, Canada (10/1977-04/1978).
  • Photographers: George Bodnar; Martyn Goddard; Ross Halfin; Terry O'Neill .
  • By the end of the '70s, the original version of the Who was reaching the end of its tether (Keith Moon was nearing the end of his life). WHO ARE YOU can be seen as something of a swan song for the spirit that ignited the rock & roll juggernaut that was the Who in its prime. The increased prominence of synthesizers here (the electronic flavoring of the title track recalls "Baba O'Riley") points towards the direction the post-Moon '80s version of the band would take. Instead of casting aspersions on socio-political ills, Townshend was casting glances askance at current musical trends ("Sister Disco") and his own occupation ("Guitar and Pen"). Entwistle's bass still rumbles melodically through the tunes in the grand style, and Daltrey's wounded-beast roar is at its most impassioned on such songs as "Had Enough." The end of an era was just around the corner, but the band blazed away regardless, making WHO ARE YOU the last must-have Who album.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (4/4/97, pp.81-82) - "...The corrected CD add[s a] booklet with extensive essays and photos--disc-respect at last..."

- Rating: B-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top