We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Yank Rachell's Tennessee Jug-Busters : Mandolin Blues

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 's Tennessee Jug-Busters.
  • Personnel: Yank Rachell (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Sleepy John Estes (vocals, guitar); Big Joe Williams (vocals, 9-string guitar); Hammie Nixon (vocals, harmonica, jug); Mike Bloomfield (guitar).
  • Engineers: Bob Koester, Pete Welding, Dan Queen.
  • Personnel: Yank Rachell (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Sleepy John Estes, Big Joe Williams (vocals, guitar); Hammie Nixon (vocals, harmonica); Michael Bloomfield (guitar).
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Koester.
  • Recording information: Dan Queen's Residence, Chicago, IL (03/06/1963-03/31/1963); Mike Bloomfield's Residence, Chicago, IL (03/06/1963-03/31/1963).
  • Photographer: Peter Amft.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Hammie Nixon; Michael Bloomfield; Sleepy John Estes; Big Joe Williams.
  • Yank Rachell has long been a legend in the blues world. One of the few blues mandolin players, Rachell recorded several notable sessions during 1929-1941 and then was off record for 22 years. After spending time outside of music, he was rediscovered and in 1963 he performed the music on this CD reissue. Rachell (who was in his fifties at the time), is in excellent voice throughout the date although it is his mandolin work that makes this set particularly special. He is reunited with two notable friends from the 1930s (guitarist Sleepy John Estes and Hammie Nixon who is heard on harmonica and jug) and is assisted on some numbers by both Big Joe Williams and the up-and-coming Mike Bloomfield on guitars; several numbers find Rachell backed by three guitars. Yank Rachell would remain active until shortly before his death on Apr. 9, 1997. This comeback set (which adds six previously unreleased tracks to the original ten-song program) is one of his definitive recordings and is a perfect showcase of the great bluesman's talents. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Country Blues
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top